Tall Poppies


< TP037   TP038   TP039 >
 TP (1-901)




$23   (Australian dollars)


buy at: AMC - Buywell - iTunes

David Jones (drums)
Daryl Pratt (midi vibraphone)
Adam Armstrong (bass)
Carmen Warrington (vocussion)
Don Burrows (flute)
Mike Nock (piano)

Atmasphere is a Sydney jazz band specialising in virtuosic performances of their own works. Some tracks have a Zen feel, others are just sheer pleasure rippling from more notes per second than you ever thought possible. Guest spots by Don Burrows and MikeNock amplify the pleasure.

JonesBells of Happiness
JonesRise and Fall in an Eastern Fashion
Pratt/Jones/WarringtonUnisons Unique
PrattBlues for Modern Times
Pratt/Jones/ArmstrongFestival after Victory
Pratt/Jones/ArmstrongSunflower Dance
Pratt/JonesDragons of the Mind [
Jones/Lida CableDance for Joyful Spirits
JonesThree Colours
Jones/Pratt/Armstrong/WarringtonMusic at the Speed of Breath


Like vibraphonist/percussionist Daryl Pratt’s Sonic Fiction, which has enjoyed greater popularity in its home base of Australia, the group AtmaSphere, led by drummer/percussionists David Jones but also featuring Pratt along with bassist Adam Armstrong (also from Sonic Fiction) and "vocussionist" Carmen Warrington, has received exposure at home, but is little-known elsewhere. And that’s a shame because once again, as with the Sonic Fiction debut, Powerful Medicine, the Australian Tall Poppies label has ventured to give visibility to a group of musicians who deserve wider acclaim, both individually and in formation.

As diverse as it is, Pratt’s Sonic Fiction can be generally categorized as fusion, but AtmaSphere is more difficult to pigeonhole. Jones and Warrington both make meditation a significant part of their lives, and elements of that mindset come through on pieces including the opening gamelan, "Bells of Happiness," and the tuned percussion piece "Absorbed." Equally meditative are the three tracks featuring Warrington—the somewhat subcontinental "Unisons Unique," the more peaceful "Ascending," and the similarly tranquil, slightly hypnotic "Music at the Speed of Breath," which also features pianist Mike Nock, who's better known internationally, in a guest spot.

Elsewhere, however, the trio of Jones, Pratt, and Armstrong is more outgoing. The title track alternates between percussion duets and a brightly melodic 7/4 theme that ultimately resolves into a lightly swinging solo section featuring Pratt, who uses MIDI vibes to trigger other sounds and give the trio a richer complexion. Similarly, on the Middle Eastern-inflected "Rise and Fall in an Eastern Fashion," Pratt triggers textures that contribute to the ethnic veracity of the piece.

At over nine minutes, the light minor blues "Blues for Modern Times" is the longest piece on the disc, providing ample solo space for both Pratt and guest flautist Don Burrows. "Festival after Victory" starts as a complex piece with a fusion touch, shifting gears midway into a Caribbean celebration, while "Sunflower Dance, with Armstrong’s busy but never self-indulgent bass work, sounds like something that could easily fit into the Sonic Fiction repertoire. Throughout the eclectic set Jones, Pratt, and Armstrong demonstrate the kind of stylistic capacity that makes their lack of recognition outside their own country more the pity.

While Flying was released in ’93, and AtmaSphere would go on to record a followup disc, the more vocal-centric Seasons of the Heart, the good news is that both discs are still available. And the fact is that there’s a relatively small but vibrant jazz scene in Australia and New Zealand that’s worthy of attention. Flying is as good a place to start as any if you're looking to gain some appreciation of Jones, Pratt, and Armstrong—three artists who, if they were living in North America, would surely be on the radar instead of beneath it.
© John Kelman

"…just listen in amazement to the virtuosity here…(they) move with effortless facility through African, Indian, funk and swing rhythms. This is technical playing. There is no denying it. But it is also buoyant, luminous, exhilarating and restful."
Gail Brennan Sydney Morning Herald December 1993

"The interaction and soloing of the musicians captures beautifully crafted, fully realised performances which enable them to impart a unified depth of feeling to the pieces."
Joya Jenson Soundscapes March 1994

AtmaSphere is a Sydney jazz-fusion band specialising in virtuosic performances of their own works. Some tracks have a Zen feel, others are just sheer pleasure rippling from more notes per second than you ever thought possible. In this first CD, AtmaSphere draws you into their supremely musical world of complex rhythms, meditational poetry and ambient textures. The incomparable drumming of AtmaSphere’s leader David Jones propels this exuberant band into all corners of the musical world, which moves with effortless facility through African, Indian, funk and swing rhythms. The music is buoyant, luminous, exhilarating and restful, from the exciting interplay between David and Daryl Pratt (percussion and vibraphone) on Flying through to the exhilarating Dance for Joyful Spirits which springboards into one of David’s melodic drum solos, to the utterly transporting Music at the Speed of Breath with guest Mike Nock adding subtle ethereal piano textures. There are two solo percussion pieces of multi-layered gongs and bells, and the open blues track Blues for Modern Times highlights the stretched-out soloing of the band members, plus guest jazz-master Don Burrows on flute.

"The level of virtuosity attained by Jones and Pratt lies in that layer of the stratosphere called ‘unbelievable’."
John Clare, Sydney Morning Herald

"… mindblowing … intense, embracing a wide range of textures, colours and sounds, and it swings! … it’s a music that will live beyond today."
Jill Morris, Drum Media


< TP037   TP038   TP039 >
 TP (1-901)



site design by carl vine